The following is a selected list of resources to help you begin your research
in Art , Art History or Arts and Administration..
For further assistance, contact Cara
List, Architecture and Allied Arts Reference Librarian, at clist@uoregon.edu.
Starting Your Research
These reference sources may provide an overview of a specific topic, define
a term or concept, provide biographical information on an artist or suggest
books, articles and other materials that may be useful in your research.
The entries in these resources range from brief descriptions to signed,
scholarly articles.
Encyclopedias
Grove Dictionary of Art Online
is the most comprehensive reference source for the study of art history
in English. The Grove was originally published in paper in 1996, but since
then the online version has continued to grow, is regularly updated and
links are continually checked and added. Entries range from a paragraph
to many pages, but all contain a bibliography. Make sure you view the
image links attached to each article.
The
Oxford Companion to Western Art can be searched for movements, styles
and artists as well as modern methodologies, theory and criticism, technique
and materials.
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms; AAA
Ref N33 .L75 2004
Brief entries covering terms, styles and movements. Contains no artists'
names.
A Dictionary of Art Terms and Techniques; AAA Ref N33
.M36
This dictionary contains definitions of technical processes in the areas
of painting, drawing, sculpture, and printmaking as well as ceramics.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art.
A comprehensive dictionary of artists' names, movements, theories, techniques and terminology.
Thesauri
Art
and Architecture Thesaurus
Use this resource to brainstorm for terms to use in key word searches.
One of the many problems in indexing and describing art is that there
are few precise and definite terms. This resource may help you to come
up with a few.
Getty
Thesaurus of Geographic Names
Very easy to use and very helpful, especially if you are interested in
ancient art or art from non-western cultures. Entries provide basic information
about the place, as well as variations and changes in place names. Authorities
for names are also cited.
Biographical Sources
The directories and biographical sources listed below are all major works
in which some effort to be comprehensive has been made. These are quick
reference lists, leading or linking you to more detailed information.
Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon : Bio-bibliographischer Index A-Z
= The artists of the world : Bio-bibliographical index A-Z; AAARef
N40 .A62 1999
With the Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon less than a quarter complete, the
publisher has created this name authority that contains the c. 500,000
artists' names that should appear in the finished biographical work. This
resource does not provide the biographical sketch that the complete reference
work will, but it does provide basic information about a massive number
of artists. Name, artistic occupation, date and place of birth and death,
and most importantly, a bibliographic reference are included. In English.
This resource, published in 1999, is less helpful for very contemporary
artists.
AskART.com: the artists bluebook
AskART provides directories to museums, dealers, auction houses and other
art related organizations and services, but its true strength is the database
of American artists. Type in the artist's name or browse the directory
of over 27,000 American artists to find images, biographies, and references
to museum holdings, books and articles, and auction records.
Union
List of Artists' Names
This is a searchable database of artists' names and their variations.
It may help you to clarify the way an artist's name is spelled (this is
especially helpful in cases of transliteration) or represented, middle
names, prefixes, hyphens and all. The list also contains references to
the resources cited for each artist. This directory is helpful with well
known historical artists, but contains strange gaps for artists active
in the later part of the twentieth century.
Who's Who in American Art : a biographical directory of contemporary
artists, editors, critics, executives, etc.; N6536.W5
Extremely brief entries for living American artists.
Directories
Artcyclopedia is a cross
referenced directory to artists and museums on the web. Entries for individual
artists consist of links to sites hosting images, articles and to museums
with holdings by the artist. Other content includes articles, primarily
by the site's developers, art news and links to museums.
ArtSource This
gateway site provides annotated links to hundreds of internet resources
on art, architecture and design.
World Wide Arts Resources
This is the only comprehensive registry of art information on the world
wide web. Thousands of sites are registered and organized here.
Finding Articles
To find articles or essays in journals, art magazines and sometimes in
museum catalogs, you will need to start with an index. Indexes allow you
to search the content of art periodicals using keywords, author's names
and titles among other search strategies. Use the Find Text button in the
citation entry to locate the journal online, at the UO Libraries, or to
request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Art Abstracts
and Art Index Retrospective
This database in two parts indexes periodicals dating back to 1929, with
Art Index Retrospective covering 1929 to 1983 and Art Abstracts indexing
from 1984 on. These indexes are strongest for English language publications,
and include many smaller or more regionally oriented U.S. publications
that may not be indexed in other databases. Art Abstracts and Art Index
Retrospective include citations to articles on all art forms from all
periods in history, from all parts of the world.
ArtBibliographies
Modern
This resource indexes articles about art of the twentieth and twenty-first
centuries including Festschriften, chapters from books and essays from
exhibition catalogs.
Bibliography of the History of Art
An important index of articles, chapters and essays on Western art, BHA
provides the best coverage of foreign (primarily European) language publications.
Design
and Applied Art Index
This index, created in the UK, is ideal for searches for material on design
(graphic, digital, automative, fashion, etc.) and applied arts (ceramics,
weaving, and metalsmithing among others).
Finding Books
These resources will help you locate books, videotapes, and other library
materials. Some of the resources below facilitate interlibrary loan or other
borrowing.
If you are searching for a particular artist, these tips may be helpful:
If the artist you are trying to find is a well known it is possible,
even likely that a book about the artist has been published. A keyword
search on the artist's name may be the best approch to locating books.
Notable artists may have a catalogue raisonne. Catalogues
raisonnes contain the complete works of an artist. In the case of
a particularly prolific artist, a catalogue raisonne may be limited
to a single media such as the complete paintings or the complete graphic
works. Add the term "catalogue raisonne" to your keyword search on the
artist's name to search for these resources.
UO Worldcat,
also available on the catalog tab on the UO Libraries' homepage,
locates books, journals, videos and other library materials at the UO,
Summit libraries and in libraries around the world. Materials owned by
the UO are listed first on the results list, followed by Summit and
then by libraries elsewhere. For more information see the Books and More page.
You may also search for materials only at the UO Libraries. To see which search will serve your needs best consult this chart.
Finding Art Images
The following resources are searchable image databases. Some of
these are part of the University of Oregon Libraries' collections and
some are available on the free web. For more information on locating
images see the Art Image Searching guide.
ARTstor Watch this location for ARTstor an image database containing
more than half a million images..
Google Image Search
allows you to do a keyword search including the artist's name and/or title
of the work of art. Keep in mind that results may vary considerably in
quality and authority.
Grove
Dictionary of Art Image Link Search allows users to search the image
links selected to illustrate articles in the Grove's Dictionary of Art
Online. Links are to images located at hundreds of international museum
and gallery websites.
Art Resource is
a commercial stock photo vendor specializing in fine art. As a study resource,
the searchable database of 250,000 images is a valuable resource.
Web Gallery of Art is a
searchable database of Western painting and sculpture from 1100 to 1850.
Special Topics in Art and Art History
These online resources address particular areas within the visual arts.
Art Education
Art Teacher on the Net is an
award winning site featuring K-12 project ideas for a variety of circumstances.
PBS TeacherSource
provides a searchable directory of lesson and curriculum guides for art
educators. Guides can be downloaded as PDF files, or email PBS to receive
the complete color guides by postal service.
Art History
Dictionary of Art Historians
is a biographical dictionary of art historians. Entries for art historians
are based on their presence in a growing list of major art historiographies.
Searchable by name and methodology.
Mother of All Art
History Links Pages is a metasite for online art history resources.
Links to hundreds of websites of practical or research value to the art
historian. From the University of Michigan.
Timeline of Art History
Produced by the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The timeline contextualizes
art history by providing a geographical and chronological overview of
key events in world history. Illustrated with works of art from the appropriate
time periods and regions.
Fine Arts
Artnet.com is an online magazine
(artnet Magazine: the insiders guide to the art market), a network of
galleries from around the world and an index of active artists. Use the
artists index to find images, galleries and biographical information about
artists who are working and showing now. This may be the best online resource
for contemporary, emerging and cutting edge artists.
Imagesite is an annotated yellowpages
for organizations, individuals, supplies, schools and other products and
services for fine artists.
American Association of Museums
provides a wealth of helpful pages for museum professionals. The "information
center" contains information about best practices, guidelines for creating
a collection management policy and more.
Association of Art Museum Directors (AAMD)
promotes the role of art in society and acts as an advocate for member
museums by establishing high standards of professional practice and by
supporting the sharing of information. The
Art Museum Network is a communication project of the AAMD and is an
important online resource for art museum news and information.
Association of Children's
Museums "endeavors to expand the capacity and further the vision of
children's museums around the world". The "all about ACM" page contains
information about the mission of this organization.
The Smithsonian: Museum Studies provides links to many continuing education and
training opportunities such as workshops and fellowships.
Museum Computer Network (MCN) is a
non-profit organization supporting the use of technology to achieve the
cultural and educational aims of museums. Click on "Museum Sites Online"
to find an extensive list of links to museum homepages from around the
world.
Museum Loan Network
facilitates sharing and collaboration between museums and cultural
institutes by funding the long-term loan of art and cultural objects.
Several publications are available in their "Collection Sharing/ What's
New section.
Professional Organizations
Art Library Society of North America
(ARLIS/NA) is the professional society of art, architecture and design
libraries and librarians includes members from academic, museum and special
research libraries.
College Art Association. Among
many services provided by the College Art Association, are advocasy for
arts and humanities issues, the promotion of excellence in the teaching
and criticism of art history and the visual arts, and the fostering of
career development for artists, art historians and others associated with
these fields.
National Endowment for the Arts
is an independant agency of the U.S. Federal government. Their mission
is to support excellence in the arts through grants for artists and art
organizations.
Maintained by: Cara List, clist@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/21/2009