The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Anthropology and Archaeology, covering each of the four subfields: cultural anthropology, archaeology, anthropological linguistics, and biological anthropology. For further assistance, contact John Russell, Interim Anthropology Subject Specialist, at johnruss@uoregon.edu. You may also find the following Research Guides useful:
Starting Your Research
These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you.
- Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology; GN 307 .E52 1996, Knight Reference
Explores topics on human cultural variation, cross-cultural comparison, holistic views of specific cultures, and ethnographic field work.
- Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics; P 29 .E48 1994, Knight Reference
Includes entries for specific languages and for topics on the nature of human language.
- History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia; GN 50.3 .H57 1997, Knight Reference
Covers developments in primatology, paleoanthropology, human genetics and evolution, human biological variation, and human ecology.
- Oxford Companion to Archaeology; CC 70 .O96 1996, Knight Reference
Includes entries for how archaeologists work, theoretical frameworks used to reconstruct and explain the past, and world prehistory.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
Concise, frequently scholarly, articles that can provide an introduction to a topic.
Finding Articles
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.
- Academic Search Premier
An interdisciplinary index. Includes citations from popular as well as scholarly journals. Provides full text for over 3,600 journals as well as indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 additional journals many of which are peer reviewed.
- Anthropological Literature
Anthro Lit indexes articles and essays in all of the subfields of anthropology, from the 19th century to the present.
- AnthroSource
AnthroSource, the American Anthropology Association's web portal, provides a complete full-text archive of all peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association. There are currently 31 AAA titles in AnthroSource.
- Biosis
This provides an additional source for biological anthropology topics. Biosis covers original research reports and reviews in the biological sciences, including human biology and primatology, from 1996 to the present.
- GeoRef
This is an additional source to use for archaeology related topics. GeoRef includes citations to nearly 2 million items about geology and earth sciences with some citations back to 1785 for North America and back to 1933 worldwide.
- MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
MLA is useful for linguistic and folklore topics. The database contains over 1.3 million citations to articles, critical essays, dissertations, and bibliographies from 1963 forward.
- Sociological Abstracts
This source includes citations and abstracts for sociology journals (defined broadly) and research reports from 1963 to the present. It is an excellent tool for researching sociocultural topics.
- There are many indexes available for ethnic, gender or geographic area studies. For examples, see the library's research guides for African Studies or Women's Studies.
Finding Books
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if we have it here.
- Summit: the catalog of the Orbis Cascade Alliance
Orbis Cascade puts millions of items at your fingertips. Books not owned by the UO Library or not available for check out may be requested through Orbis Cascade Borrowing: Request Item.
- WorldCat
Worldcat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc.
- The Map and Aerial Photography Collection, on the first floor of the Knight Library, holds collections of maps, atlases, aerial photographs, and geographic reference books. For example:
- An Anthropological Atlas: Ecology and Cultural Traits, Languages and Linguistic Traits, Demographic and Biological Traits; GN 635 .I4 S55 1993, MAP Library
- Indian Tribes and Languages of the Old Oregon Country [map]; G 4241.E3 1959.O7 , MAP Library
- The Atlas of World Archaeology; CC 165 .A85 2000, MAP Library
- Anthro.Net
A searchable database containing thousands of reviewed web sites and bibliographic references relating to anthropology, archaeology, history, linguistics, psychology, and sociology.
- Anthropology Internet Resources
- ArchNet is the Archaeological Research Institute's virtual library for archaeology resources on the internet. It organizes sites by region and subject. It also has a directory of academic departments, publishers and museums, as well as current news.
- Voice of the Shuttle
A superb virtual library that offers a portal to well selected and annotated links, including teaching resources, journals, and newsgroups.
- Searching the Web
Comparisons of search engines. They are not all the same!
- Evaluating Information on the WorldWideWeb
How do you know if a web site is scholarly? Who are the authors and what are their credentials? Learn to critically evaluate information in print or on the web.
- Citing Electronic Documents
Avoid charges of plagiarism! Always correctly cite your sources.
Maintained by John Russell, johnruss@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 07/10/2008