Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Architecture for Sustainability Resources

This guide lists key web sites dealing with sustainable architecture. For more assistance, contact Ed Teague, subject specialist for architectural areas. The Architecture and Allied Arts Library is the primary service point for collections and services in this area.

Reference Works

  • LEED--EB for existing buildings : reference guide. Washington, DC : U.S. Green Building Council, c2006. AAA REF TH880 .L443 2006
  • New construction reference guide version 2.2.2nd ed.Washington, D.C. : U.S. Green Building Council, 2006.
  • LEED--CI for commercial interiors : reference guide. Version 2.0, 3rd ed. Washington, DC : U.S. Green Building Council , c2006. AAA REF TH880 .L44 2006
  • Core & shell development, version 2.0 : reference guide. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Green Building Council, 2006. AAA REF NA2542.36 .U8 2006

Databases & Other Reference Sources

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals. The Avery Index covers the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation,and interior design and decoration. It contains more than 550,000 thousand entries surveying over 700 American and international journals including scholarly, popular, and professional periodical literature worldwide. Indexing begins with periodicals dating from the mid-1930s with selective coverage going back to 18th century publications.
  • BuildingGreen Suite. The BuildingGreen Suite is an online resource for environmentally sensitive design and construction. This site provides access to GreenSpec, a resource for green product listings; current and past issues of Environmental Building News; and over 150 project case studies featuring green design.
  • University of Oregon Sustainability Database. Access to a variety of sustainability projects at UO.
  • Web of Science. The Web of Science provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Websites

Altwals Alternative Landscape Materials - http://www.caed.asu.edu/altwals/
Describes the potential uses for alternative landscape materials which include rammed earth, corrugated cardboard bales, adobe, fly ash concrete, straw bale, earth bag construction, and cast earth.
Architectural Green Solar Network - http://www.agsn.de/
German Association concerned with sustainable architecture. (German and English)
Aspen Publishers - Environment Journals - http://www.aspenpublishers.com/environment.asp
Publishers of the Energy Design Update newsletter.
Berkebile Nelson Immenschuh McDowell Architects - http://www.bnim.com/fmi/xsl/index.xsl
Architecture firm with a focus on sustainable architecture. Includes research papers on other methods than LEED of assessing building performance.
Boulder Green Building Guild - http://www.bgbg.org
An association of building professionals in Boulder County, Colorado focused on making green building common practice. Includes calendar of events.
Building Concerns - http://www.interiorconcerns.com/
Supporting ecologically sustainable design and building. Includes the Interior Concerns Resource Guide, a sourcebook of information and product suppliers of more sustainable and healthy building and interior materials and products.
BuildingGreen - http://www.buildinggreen.com/
Publisher of Environmental Building News and the GreenSpec directory. Developer of the BuildingGreen Suite, a research tool for green design. Site includes articles about many green topics.
Castleblock - http://www.castleblock.com
Architects and engineers in Hawai'i specializing in alternative building materials and technologies with a focus on high-performance, recycled content materials. Also dealers for concrete forms, plywood substitute, and recycled rubber lumber products.
Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems - http://www.cmpbs.org/
A research and design center for sustainable building practices run by Pliny Fisk, based in Austin TX.
Center for Research in Alternate Systems of Energy - http://mhathwar.tripod.com/thesis
Design dissertation project outlining the use of alternate energy systems and principles of climatic architecture to reduce energy consumption in buildings. Includes a pilot project for a research campus. Good explanatory diagrams.
Construct Ireland - http://constructireland.ie
Contains information, articles, daily news items, and a directory of contacts relating to sustainable construction in Ireland. A monthly e-mail newsletter is available by subscription.
Development Center for Appropriate Technology - http://www.dcat.net/
Non-profit organization that supports the development and use of sustainable technology through education, research, and projects. Includes information on working with code officials. Active in revising building codes to include sustainable issues.
Earth Advantage Sustainable Building - http://www.earthadvantage.org
Program supported by Portland (OR) General Electric Company to support sustainable design of residential and commercial projects with consulting services and the Earth Advantage certification program. Program also certifies builders and remodelers. Site also contains technology reports, links to information sites, and events in the Portland area.
EcoDeveloper - http://www.ecodeveloper.com
Information on building EcoVillage 1, a high-level sustainable community in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
Ecostruct - http://www.ecostruct.co.uk
Building company based in South Shropshire, UK promoting the concepts of sustainable development and environmental awareness within the construction industry. Projects include barn conversions and individual houses with emphasis on energy-efficiency and low environmental impact. Site includes a good overview of several of the key issues involved in sustainable architecture.
Ecotone Publishing - http://www.ecotonedesign.com
Publishers of books on green architecture and design. Site includes links to other resources and documentation for their green achitecture textbook, curriculum, and study guide based on "The Philosophy of Sustainable Design".
Elements - http://elements.bnim.com
Sustainable Design consulting division of BNIM Architects in Kansas City, MO. Good reading list of books that inspire change.
Energy Design Tools - http://www2.aud.ucla.edu/energy-design-tools/
Software tools to analysis climate, sunlight, and building construction. Includes links to climate data files used by the programs. Developed at UCLA to run on PC compatible computers running DOS 3.1 or higher and Windows 95/98/NT.
EnvironDesign - http://www.EnvironDesign.com
Annual conference on sustainable design with workshops, product vendors, networking, and roundtable discussions.
Environmental Design & Construction Magazine - http://www.edcmag.com/
Bi-monthly magazine about sustainable building for professionals. Includes article archives, product information, and industry resources.
Environmental Design Research Association - http://www.edra.org/
An international, interdisciplinary organization that focuses on environmental design research that examines the interrelationships between people and their built environments. Hosts conferences, publishes papers, and allocates student research grants. Also supports special interest networks.
EPA Green Building - http://www.epa.gov/greenbuilding/
A gateway to numerous U.S. Environmental Protection Agency webpages on how to improve the environmental performance of buildings, with sections covering energy use, building materials, indoor air quality, water conservation and waste.
Framework - http://www.frameworkcdm.com/home/
Distinctive modular pre-engineered structures for use as schools, classrooms and sports buildings. Also will design new unique modular buildings.
Green Advantage - http://www.greenadvantage.org
Voluntary training and certification program for construction professionals that is allied with the U. S. Green Building Council. Certification is based on the University of Florida's Build Green & Profit workshop that teaches concepts and techniques to conserve resources more effectively while profitably producing energy and water efficient housing.
Green Building Alliance - http://www.gbapgh.org/
Pittsburgh-based non-profit organization that provides expert services and reliable information to facilitate green building solutions-- and, in the process, helps our region thrive.
Green Building at Penn State - http://www.engr.psu.edu/greenbuild/
A research program in sustainable construction at Penn State University Department of Architectural Engineering. Includes a multi-university program exploring sustainable housing solutions for American Indians.
Green Building Concepts - http://www.greenconcepts.com
Tools to build a more energy and resource efficient home.
Green Building Council of Australia - http://www.gbcaus.org
Group seeking to promote sustainable development and to encourage the property industry to implement green building programs, technologies, design practices, and operations. Developed the Green Star rating tool for evaluating building design.
Green Building Press - http://www.newbuilder.co.uk
Publishers of Building for a Future magazine and the Green Building Bible in the United Kingdom.
Green Building Services - http://www.GreenBuildingServices.com/
Sustainable design consultants providing LEED project management, design consultation, workshops & training, technical analysis, and specification assistance. Includes reports on several sustainable design strategies.
Green Design Initiative - http://www.ce.cmu.edu/GreenDesign/
An academic-industry-government consortium based at Carnegie-Mellon University to develop research and education programs to improve environmental quality while encouraging sustainable economic development.
Green Home Building - http://www.greenhomebuilding.com
Focuses on sustainable architecture strategies, natural building methods, and examples of vernacular architecture, with lists of books and related web sites. Also information on dealing with building codes when using natural building materials.
Green October - http://www.greenoctober.com
Environmental consulting firm based in New York City. Services include alternate environmental strategies, research, specifications, and material assessments. Experience with Battery Park City's Residential Environmental Guidelines.
Green-Haus - http://home.earthlink.net/~dlombard
Sustainable design research and consulting for architects, builders/developers, agencies and owners. Specialist in technical Internet research regarding environmental aspects relating to buildings and design.
GreenHomeGuide - http://www.GreenHomeGuide.com
Reviews and advice for green remodeling and living. Articles, directories of recommended products and green building professionals and retailers.
GreenHomeNYC - http://www.GreenHomeNYC.org
GreenHomeNYC facilitates the adoption of sustainable building methods and materials by owners of small residential and commercial buildings in New York City. Includes links and listing of local events.
GreenStreet Construction and Consulting - http://www.greenstreetinc.com
Construction firm specializing in high-performance green building for both new construction and renovation. Also provide LEED consulting and solar, wind, and geothermal energy system design and installation.
HOK Sustainable Design News - http://www.hoksustainabledesign.com
News about HOK's sustainable planning, design, and delivery strategies.
Holcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction - http://www.holcimfoundation.org
International group that seeks to promote sustainable construction. Sponsors regional and global award competitions, funds projects, and organizes seminars. Good conceptual information on sustainable construction.
Irish Eco Builders - http://homepage.eircom.net/~greenbuild/
Photos of strawbale, timber, and thatch projects in Ireland. Also contains many links to thatch, strawbale, and green building sites.
LISA: Life Cycle Analysis In Sustainable Architecture - http://www.lisa.au.com
Providers of a life cycle decision support tool to calculate the environmental impact of a building. Also provides a range of impact attributes.
Loken Builders - http://www.lokenbuilders.com/
Construction and consulting company focusing on energy and resource efficient construction methods and materials.
Metafore - http://www.metafore.org/
Group that seeks to change business practices to be environmentally responsible, especially regarding forest products. They produce several documents on integrating environmental values with business practices, including "Wood for Building Green".
Natural Logic - http://www.natlogic.com/index.html
Consulting firm that assists companies and communities improve their environmental performance by using ecological models to reduce waste and energy use. E-letter, primer on sustainability, and links to articles and other resources.
Natural Resources Defense Council - http://www.nrdc.org/cities/default.asp
Articles, links, reports, unpublished research, policy and technical analysis, and Congressional testimony relating to sustainable design and construction.
Northwest EcoBuilding Guild - http://www.ecobuilding.org/
Association of building professionals and homeowners interested in ecologically sustainable building. Offers fact sheets and newsletters, event listing, and resource directory.
Oikos Green Building Library - http://oikos.com/library/index.html
Articles and selections from books about sustainable design and energy efficiency. Includes a green products directory, classifieds, and bookstore.
Paladino Green Building Strategies - http://www.palcon.com/
Design/development to incorporate green building strategies and sustainable development approaches to create a new kind of building.
Sage Concepts Sustainability Solutions - http://www.sageconcepts.net
Information site for a residential project located in Santa Monica California built using green design principles. Includes construction photographs and resource links.
Seven Generations Natural Builders - http://sgnb.com/intro.php
Group that teaches workshops throughout USA in cob, straw bale, and other natural building methods. Site includes definitions of various methods and list of book and web site resources.
Solar Bubble Build - http://solarbubblebuild.com
Interior-environment control system that uses liquid bubble insulation, dynamic liquid cooling, and solar energy collection based on the principles of the Solaroof developed by Richard Nelson.
Strawbale Studio Natural Building Project - http://www.geocities.com/RainForest/Vines/7729/index.html
Gives information on natural building, thatching, ecovillages, permaculture and sustainable living.
Sustainability Works - http://www.sustainabilityworks.org.uk/
A complete development tool anyone interested in adopting a sustainable approach to housing development and regeneration, including housing associations, local authorities, consultants, contractors and developers.
Sustainable Architecture: Eco Design and Landscaping, Urbanism - http://www.aloha.net/~laumana/
An archive of information about sustainable architecture and urbanism collected by Robert D. Hotten, MLA
Sustainable Building Sourcebook Contents - http://www.greenbuilder.com/sourcebook/contents.html
A collection of information and sources of materials, assistance, and further research on many aspects of sustainable construction and remodeling.
Sustainable Condo - http://www.sustainablecondo.com
An educational traveling display to illustrate and promote leading-edge sustainable building design, products, technologies, and systems. Based in Vancouver Canada.
Sustainable Settlement in Southern Africa - http://www.sustainablesettlement.co.za
Provides a central point of access to information and organizations in southern Africa to support sustainable development. Addresses the issues of sustainable development in developing countries.
Sustainable Sources - http://www.greenbuilder.com/
Online collections of information on sustainable building, eco travel, and Latin American environmental issues. Keyword searchable.
Sustaining: tower blocks - http://www.sustainingtowers.org
a resource portal for sustainable refurbishment of tower blocks. The project will re-evaluate existing practice in terms of the designs and strategies for refurbishment of tower blocks.
The Green Choice - http://www.thegreenchoice.com
Information and links describing the wide variety of options, considerations and technologies involved in building an environmentally friendly, energy efficient home, especially in the Arizona area. Distributors for Omni Block insulated masonry system and kitchen and bath cabinetry.
The Natural Home Building Source - http://www.thenaturalhome.com
Sustainable, passive solar, do-it-yourself house plans are featured with interior planterbeds, composting toilets, greywater recycling and septic system products.
The Tofte Project - http://www.tofteproject.info
Interactive tour of the Tofte Project and cabin, and the principles of sustainable architecture that were used in the cabin's design and construction.
Tirone Nunes - http://www.tironenunes.pt/
Promotes, conceives, and studies the viability of bioclimatic buildings in the housing, office, commercial sectors and sport centers.
US Green Building Council - http://www.usgbc.org
A leading non-profit organization in the dedicated to sustainable building design and construction. Developers of the LEED building rating system.
VIROtech Friendly Technology - http://www.virotech.com.au
Source of simple, environmentally responsive, cost effective products.
Vital Signs Project - http://arch.ced.berkeley.edu/vitalsigns/
A curriculum materials development effort to examine a physical building's performance. Includes resource packages available for downloading and case studies.
YourHomePlanet - http://www.yourhomeplanet.com
An environmental building design web directory - links, resources, and tools.

References: Courtesy of Open Directory Project

Maintained by: Ed Teague, ehteague@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 03/06/2007