Business research topics are often very specific, and may require
special resources. Please consult:
For further assistance, ask at the Research/Information Desk or contact
Kaiping Zhang, Business/Economics Librarian.
Starting Your Research
Company / Industry
- Business and Company Resource Center
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together
company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories,
chronologies and periodicals.
- EconLit with Full Text
Provides subject indexing and abstracts for the discipline of economics. Includes articles in over 620 journals, chapters in books, and dissertations.
- IBISworld
IBISWorld covers thousands of industries in the United States economy at the 5-digit NAICS code level. Reports include market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, key success factors, and outlook. IBISWorld also has extensive coverage of industries in the Asia/Pacific region with reports covering China, Australia and Indonesia.
- International Directory of Company Histories
Provides a valuable reference source on international big business. Each entry provides basic factual information on the history of the company and a survey of its recent performance and activities.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Provides comprehensive coverage of current news, business and company information, government and legal information, and more.
- MarketResearch.com Academic
MarketResearch.com Academic is an international full text database of market research
reports, which includes information on service industries, consumer goods, food and
beverages, life sciences, demographics, heavy industry and technology/media. Full text
reports are usually between 100 - 300 pages. Users can either browse by industry, or search
for reports on specific topics.
- Mergent Online
Normal
0
false
false
false
EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE
Mergent Online provides global detailed financial data for
over 35,000 active and inactive companies. Contains business ratios, historical
information, SEC filings and US annual reports for over 15,000 public U.S.
companies, as well as international company data for approximately 17,000
companies, including international annual reports, FactSheets, and country
information. Select private company reports are also available.
- ReferenceUSA
Contains directory data for over 12 million US firms and business establishments of all sizes.
- Small Business Resource Center
Provides information on how to start, finance or manage small businesses. Resources include
sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage brings together a dozen financial and investment publications that provide information for corporate research and for industry, competitive, and investment analysis. Among the publications included are such familiar titles as S&P's Corporation Records, Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Dividend Record, Earnings Guide, Mutual Fund Reports, and the Outlook. Also included are S&P's Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives and the Security Dealers Directory.
Return to top
Demographics / LifeStyles
- Local Market Audience
Analyst
Password required. Internet Explorer only. Access for single user at a time.
Local Market Audience Analyst provides four research modules: Market Profile Reports;
Demographic Reports; Lifestyle Analysis Reports; and PRIZM Reports. These reports help users
find information about target audiences, their behaviors and lifestyles.
- Mintel Reports
Mintel provides research reports covering European, UK, and US consumer markets. The reports analyze market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Reports include categories ranging from beauty, personal goods and toiletries to technology/telecom. Users will need to create a profile with their uoregon.edu email address to use the database.
- Sports Business Research Network
This is a market research database which includes demographic information on consumers.
- Tablebase
Tablebase is a database comprised of tabular information. The tables provide information such as market share, market size, capacity, production, imports, exports, sales, product and brand rankings, forecasts, healthcare statistics and demographics.
International Business
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs
Online
A full-text database containing working papers, journals, books, policy briefs and case
studies related to international affairs. CIAO Atlas includes maps and country information
(country briefing, political and economic reports).
- Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands
Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands discusses cognitive styles, value systems, and negotiation strategies in different cultures. Over 70 countries are examined in terms of background, cultural orientation, business practices (e.g., negotiating, entertaining), and protocol (e.g., gestures, dress). Especially useful for preparing to do business with another country or studying abroad.
- OECDiLibrary
OECD iLibrary provides access to databases,
periodicals, books and papers of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.
For international company information, search databases listed in
Company /Industry.
Advertising
- Ad $ Summary
Information on where brands, products, companies and industries spent their advertising budgets.
Use your duckID and password to get off-campus access to the library's databases, electronic journals and other electronic services.
- SRDS Media Solutions
"The SRDS database of media rates and information is the largest and most comprehensive in the world-cataloging more than 100,000 U.S. and international media properties." The library has online access to Business Publication Advertising SourceŽ, Consumer Magazine Advertising Source, Newspaper Advertising SourceŽ, and Radio Advertising Source, and TV and Cable SourceŽ.
Finding Books
Finding Articles
- Academic Search Premier
Covers current news, business and company information, government and legal information.
- Business Source Complete
Provides full-text business journals and hundreds of
scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- Factiva
Factiva offers full text of 8,000 international business and general publications including the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the present, financial profiles for companies worldwide and historical stock prices as well as current data and market indexes.
- JSTOR: Electronic Journal Archives
A fully searchable electronic database that contains the scanned images of over 100 major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines including business and economics, some of which began publication as early as the 1870s.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Provides comprehensive coverage of current news, business and company information, government and legal information, and more. Users can access Hoover's Company Reports via Lexis-Nexis academic.
Selected Web Resources
Return to top
Maintained by: Kaiping Zhang, kzhang@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 05/04/2012