The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Computer and Information Science. For further assistance, contact Annie Zeidman-Karpinski, subject specialist for Computer and Information Science.
Finding Articles
To find articles in journals, newspapers or magazines, you will need to search in an index. You can search a topic using keywords, or by author or title if you already have a citation.
[Listed in order of relevance.]
- ACM Digial Library
Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
- IEEE Computer Society Digital Library
The first one gives you full text to all of the IEEE Computer Society journals and proceedings. Use the Search > Advanced Search page to focus your searching.
- IEEE Xplore
With Xplore, we have have full text access to all the IEEE society journals through 1998 but not all of the conferences (only the ones from the CSDL, see above).
- CiteSeer Scientific Literature Digital Library
or NEC ResearchIndex
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer provides metadata and linking to related documents for all citations, as well as automated citation indexing and citation linking using autonomous citation indexing.
- INSPEC
Inspec is the major index for computer science and physics and goes back to 1969. From within this database, you can check if UO owns the journal containing an article you want, and if not, request an interlibrary loan.
- MathSciNet
Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to present.
- Web of Science
The web version of the Science Citation Index (as well as the Social Sciences Citation Index) from 1975 to the present. This interdisciplinary database allows you to find out who has cited a known reference, as well as searching for current research articles by author, topic, etc. From within this database you can check if UO owns the journal containing an article you want. If not, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form. Related information in the Journal Citation Reports (JCR), is only available on a single computer in the Science Library. Ask us where.
- Google Scholar
Use the library homepage to see the UO FindText link to check to see if we have access to an article in the library or electronically. Or, go to the preferences page and indicate that you want University of Oregon in the "Library Links" box.
- Academic Search Premier
An interdisciplinary article index with many full-text articles. Features include 'peer reviewed only' and 'full-text only' search options. The mix of scholarly and popular journals make it a good place to search for opinion or controversy papers.
Return to top
Finding Books
One trick for searching for computer science books is if you need to look for programming languages. Entering a keyword search of C++ will fail. Do a subject search for "C Computer Program Language." Adding "Computer Programming Language" to the word Java ("Java Computer Programming Language") also is necessary to eliminate books about Indonesia.
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if we have it here.
- In the UO Library Catalog we have a subscription to SAFARI Tech Books Online
Follow the link above or type "SAFARI tech books online" into the UO Catalog
This is a one-stop source for leading IT
information. A joint venture of O'Reilly Media and The Pearson
Technology Group, this is a ready-reference resource, providing a level of authority, flexibility,
and currency, covering technologies most essential to users including:
certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linus/Unix, Web development,
Windows, XML, and more.
- Summit Catalog
Summit is the catalog of most of the academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest. Combined these collections provide more than 22 million items. Request books and other materials (but not journal articles) through Summit if the UO copy is checked out, missing, or if UO doesn't own a copy. Most are delivered within 3 *working* days or less and can be checked out for 3 weeks, with an option for renewal. To request a journal article, you'll need to fill out an interlibrary loan form.
- WorldCat
WorldCat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, dissertations, journals, maps, electronic and internet resources, manuscripts, and more. From within this database, you can check if UO owns a book of interest, and if not, request an interlibrary loan. (Always check Summit first, though.)
- University of Oregon Computing Center Documents Room
Documents Room Book List
Documents Room Journal Holdings
Return to top
Proceedings and Technical Reports
Proceedings are especially tricky to find. ACM proceedings in particular can be troublesome because they have frequent title changes and their publications come out under more than one title (as a book, as proceedings, in a SIG newsletter). Below are some tips for searching for them.
- Keyword search in the UO Library Catalog -- names for proceedings vary, so doing a title search will lose some. Some will be entered as series and some as books.
- Try acronyms and spelling words out -- for example CHI and computer human interaction.
- Try the organization as author -- SIGGRAPH for example
- Check the newsletter for the appropriate SIG -- for example, only SIGCOMM 86 appears in the library catalog, but you can look in SIGCOMM's newsletter, Computer Communciations Review, and find each year's proceedings.
- Try the author's Web site -- authors will sometimes make their papers available themselves. Also try: Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library and Computing Research Repository
- Contact a Science Reference Librarian to help you track it down.
- Borrow from another library -- once you're sure we don't have it, you can request an interlibrary loan. First try Summit, then try WorldCat, PapersFirst, or Proceedings.
Technical Reports also can be tricky to find. Search in the UO Library Catalog by title or author to see if we have a tech report in our collection. Many universities offer their technical reports on the Internet. Yahoo does a good job linking to many of them. Also try:
Return to top
General Reference Sources
These resources can provide an overview of a subject and some will include references for further reading. If you need to choose a topic you may want to browse them for ideas. If you have already chosen a topic, they can supply background information and lead you to other sources.
These are located in the Science Reference area. Some recommended titles are:
- Computer Science and Engineering Handbook [QA76.C57315 1997] -- Great overview on everything in computer science from CRC and ACM.
- Computer Glossary. [QA76.15.F733 1998 ] -- PC Magazine loved this dictionary.
- A History of Computing Technology [QA76.17.W56 1997] -- From ancient times to the 1960s.
- Handbook of Human-Computer Interaction. [QA76.9.H85H36 1997] -- Nice overviews on all HCI topics.
- Handbook of Logic and Language [QA76.9.N38 H36 1997] -- Very detailed.
- Encyclopedia of Software Engineering [QA76.758.E53 1994] -- Very comprehensive
People and Organizations
Return to top
Web Resources
Return to top
Maintained by: Annie Zeidman-Karpinski, annie@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 05/15/2008