Skip To Main ContentUniversity of Oregon
University of Oregon Libraries
University of Oregon Libraries

Looking for Dictionaries

Language Dictionaries

All of the UO Libraries have language dictionaries, covering the major languages of the world. The following list covers a selection of language dictionaries held in the Knight Library, giving the call number where dictionaries in that language can be found. The list also includes significant online dictionaries and one representative print edition from the Reference Collection. Check the call number in the circulating stacks, for language dictionaries that may be checked out.

English (PE 1625)

Oxford English Dictionary online; and in print at REF KNIGHT PE 1625 .O87 1989
Oxford Reference Online: Dictionaries online
The Merriam-Webster Language Center online
The American Heritage Dictionary online; and in print at REF KNIGHT PE 1628 .A623
Roget's Thesaurus online; and in print at REF KNIGHT PE 1591 .R7 1987
Dictionary of Old English Corpus online
Middle English Compendium online

French (PC 2640)

Oxford Reference Online: Modern Languages online
Robert & Collins Super Senior Dictionary REF KNIGHT PC 2640 .R63 2000
Dictionnaires d'Autrefois online

German (PF 3640)

Oxford Reference Online: Modern Languages online
Collins German Dictionary REF KNIGHT PF 3640 .C68 1991

Italian (PC 1640)

Oxford Reference Online: Modern Languages online
Cambridge Italian Dictionary REF KNIGHT PC 1640 .R4

Spanish (PC 4640)

Oxford Reference Online: Modern Languages online
Diccionario de la lengua espanola online
Oxford Spanish Dictionary REF KNIGHT PC 4640 .O94 2001

Chinese (PL 1455)

New English-Chinese Dictionary REF KNIGHT PL 1455 .H75 1988
ABC Chinese-English Comprehensive Dictionary REF KNIGHT PL 1455 .A33 2003

Japanese (PL 679)

Jim Breen's online dictionary online
Oxford Starter Japanese Dictionary REF KNIGHT PL 679 .O946 2000

Also:

     

  • Arabic (PJ 6640), including Al-Mawrid, a Modern English-Arabic Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PJ 6640 .B3)
  • Filipino (PL 6056), including New Standard English-Filipino Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PL 6056 .N49 1995)
  • Greek (PA 445), including English Greek Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PA 445 .E5 W6 1971)
  • Hebrew (PJ 4833), including Complete Hebrew-English, English-Hebrew Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PJ 4833 .A43 1996)
  • Indonesian (PL 5076), including Contemporary English-Indonesian Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PL 5076 .S24 1991)
  • Japanese (PL 679), including Oxford Starter Japanese Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PL 679 .O946 2000)
  • Korean (PL 937), including NTC's Compact Korean & English Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PL 937 .E5 N15 1995)
  • Latin (PA 2365), including Oxford Latin Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PA 2365 .E5 O9 1982)
  • Malay (PL 5125), including Hippocrene Standard Malay-English, English-Malay Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PL 5125 .C64 1993)
  • Norwegian (PD 2691), including Engelsk Norsk Ordbok (REF KNIGHT PD 2691 .C3 1988)
  • Polish (PG 6640), including Hippocrene Unabridged POlish Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PG 6640 .P566 1997)
  • Portuguese (PC 5333), including Portuguese-English Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PC 5333 .T3 1990)
  • Russian (PG 2640), including Oxford Russian Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PG 2640 .W5 2000)
  • Swahili (PL 8703), including Hippocrene Practical Swahili-English, English-Swahili Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PL 8703 .A84 2000)
  • Swedish (PD 5640), including Prisma's Abridged English-Swedish, Swedish-English Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PD 5640 .P60 1995)
  • Thai (PL 4187), including New English-Thai Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PL 4187 .W584 1996)
  • Vietnamese (PL 4376), including NTC's Compact Vietnamese-English Dictionary (REF KNIGHT PL 4376 .N345 1995)

Subject Dictionaries

Subject dictionaries provide definitions for the terminology of a particular discipline.

Oxford Reference Online provides electronic access to dozens of the Oxford series of dictionaries and companions.

The University of Oregon Libraries have scores of subject dictionaries. This guide lists the more important ones, by broad subject area:


General Subject Dictionaries
Anthropology and Archaeology
Architecture
Art

Biology
Business
Chemistry
Classics
Computer Science

Counseling Psychology
Dance
Economics
Education
Environmental Studies


Ethnic Studies
European Studies
Folklore
Geography

Geological Sciences
History
International Studies
Journalism & Mass Media
Judaic Studies

Law
Library Science
Linguistics
Literature
Mathematics


Medicine
Medieval Studies
Music
Philosophy

Planning, Public Policy, and Management
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Religious Studies

Romance Languages and Literatures
Sociology
Statistics
Theater Arts
Women & Gender Studies

Locations used in this guide are:

AAA REF Architecture & Allied Arts Library, 200 Lawrence Hall
DOCS REF Document Center, 1st floor Knight Library
REF KNIGHT Reference Department, 1st floor Knight Library
LAW REF John E. Jaqua Law Library, 2nd floor Knight Law Center
MUSIC REF Music Reference, 3rd floor Knight Library
SCI REF Science Library, lower level Onyx Bridge
MATH REF Mathematics Library, 210 Fenton Hall

You might also want to consult a research guide for your subject area for more resources that may help you in your search.

General Subject Dictionaries

Dictionary of the Social Sciences REF KNIGHT H 41 .D53 2002
Social Science Encyclopedia REF KNIGHT H 41 .S63 1996
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms SCI REF Q 123 .M15 2003

Anthropology and Archaeology

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology online; and REF KNIGHT CC 70 .C37 2002
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology REF KNIGHT CC 77 .H5 E53 2002
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology REF KNIGHT GN 50.3 .S74 1991
Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology REF KNIGHT GN 307 .W56 1991

Architecture

 
Oxford Reference Online: Art and Architecture online
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction AAA REF NA 31 .H32 2000
Illustrated Dictionary of Architectural Preservation AAA REF NA 105 .B87 2004

Art

 
Oxford Reference Online: Art and Architecture online
Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists AAA REF N 33 .L353 2000
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms AAA REF N33 .L75 2004

Biology

 
Oxford Reference Online: Biological Sciences online
Dictionary of Biology SCI REF QH 302.5 .D52 2000
Dictionary of Gene Technology SCI REF QH 506 .K333 2001
Plant-book: a Portable Dictionary of the Vascular Plants SCI REF QK 11 .M29 1997
Dictionary of Zoology SCI REF QL 9 .C66 1999
Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology SCI REF R 121 .J86 2002

Business

 
Oxford Reference Online: Business online
International Dictionary of Management DOCS REF HD 30.15 .J64 1990
Roberts Dictionary of Industrial Relations DOCS REF HD 4839 .R612 1994
Prentice Hall Encyclopedia of Business Terms DOCS REF HF 1001 .C68 1995
Dictionary of International Trade DOCS REF HF 1001 .E466 1995
Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marketing DOCS REF HF 5415 .B4552 1999
Oxford Dictionary of Accounting DOCS REF HF 5621 .D53 1999

Chemistry

 
Oxford Reference Online: Physical Sciences online
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry SCI REF QD 4 .V36 2005
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary SCI REF QD 5 .C5 2002
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology SCI REF QD 415 .A25 O94 2000

Classics

 
Oxford Reference Online: Classics online
Oxford Classical Dictionary REF KNIGHT DE 5 .O9 1996

Computer Science

 
Oxford Reference Online: Computing online
NetLingo: The Internet Dictionary online
Computer Desktop Encyclopedia SCI REF QA 76.15 .F732 2001
Computer Glossary SCI REF QA 76.15 .F733 1998

Counseling Psychology and Human Services

 
Dictionary of Counseling REF KNIGHT BF 637 .C6 B444 1994
Social Work Dictionary REF KNIGHT HV 12 .B37 1995

Dance

 
Oxford Dictionary of Dance online; and REF KNIGHT GV 1585 .C78 2000
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Ballet REF KNIGHT GV 1585 .K6313 1982

Economics

 
Oxford Reference Online: Economics online
MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics DOCS REF HB 61 .M49 1992

Education

 
Facts on File Dictionary of Education REF KNIGHT LB 15 .S43 1988
Dictionary of Special Education and Rehabilitation REF KNIGHT LC 3957 .V47 1997

Environmental Studies

 
Oxford Reference Online: Environmental Sciences online
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Environmental Change REF KNIGHT GE 10 .E534 2001
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology SCI REF GE 10 .P67 2000
Facts on File Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment SCI REF QH 540.4 .F35 2004

Ethnic Studies

 
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies REF KNIGHT GN 495.6 .C37 2004

European Studies

 
Dictionary of European History and Politics Since 1945 REF KNIGHT D 1051 .U78 1996
Encyclopedia of the European Union DOCS REF JN 30 .E52 2000

Folklore

 
Oxford Reference Online: Mythology and Folklore online
Dictionary of Superstitions REF KNIGHT BF 1775 .D53 1989
Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology, and Legend REF KNIGHT GR 35 .F82 [1972]

Geography

 
Oxford Reference Online: Earth Sciences online
GIS Dictionary online
Webster's New Geographical Dictionary REF KNIGHT G 103.5 .W42 [Reference Desk]
Dictionary of Physical Geography DOCS REF GB 10 .D53 2000
Dictionary of Human Geography DOCS REF GF 4 .D52 2000
Glossary of the Mapping Sciences DOCS REF TA 505 .G57 1994

Geological Sciences

 
Oxford Reference Online: Earth Sciences online
Glossary of Geology SCI REF, DOCS REF QE 5 .B38 1997
Dictionary of Earth Sciences SCI REF QE 5 .D54 1999
Oxford Companion to the Earth SCI REF QE 5 .O94 2000

History

 
Oxford Reference Online: History online
Dictionary of Concepts in History REF KNIGHT D 13 .R49 1986
Encyclopedia of World History REF KNIGHT D 21 .E53 1998
Oxford Companion to United States History REF KNIGHT E 174 .O94 2001

International Studies [See also Political Science]

 
Oxford Reference Online: Social Sciences online
International Development Dictionary DOCS REF HF 1359 .F79 1991
Dictionary of International Law and Diplomacy DOCS REF JX 1226 .G29 1973
International Relations: A Political Dictionary DOCS REF JX 1226 .P55 1995
Penguin Dictionary of International Relations REF KNIGHT JZ 1161 .E94 1998
Encyclopedia of the United Nations DOCS REF KZ 4968 .M66 2002

Journalism, Mass Media, and Communication

 
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies REF KNIGHT P 87.5 .W38 2003
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television theory REF KNIGHT PN 1993.45 .C75 2001
Telecommunications Illustrated Dictionary REF KNIGHT TK 5102 .P49 2002

Judaic Studies

 
Oxford Reference Online: Religion online
Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion REF KNIGHT BM 50 .O94 1997

Law

 
Oxford Reference Online: Law online
Black's Law Dictionary LAW REF KF 156 .B53 2004; and DOCS REF KF 156 .B53 1999

Library Science

 
Dictionary for Library and Information Science REF KNIGHT Z 1006 .R45 2004

Linguistics

 
Oxford Reference Online: English Language online
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics REF KNIGHT P 29 .C65 2003

Literature

 
Oxford Reference Online: Literature online
Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms REF KNIGHT PN 44.5 .Q56 1999
Oxford Companion to English Literature REF KNIGHT PR 19 .D73 2000
Oxford Companion to American Literature REF KNIGHT PS 21 .H3 1995

Mathematics

 
Oxford Reference Online: Mathematics online
Mathematics Dictionary MATH REF and SCI REF QA 5 .J33 1992
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics MATH QA 5 .W45 2003
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics SCI REF QA 276.15 .E84 1998

Medicine

 
Oxford Reference Online: Medicine online
Stedman's Medical Dictionary SCI REF R 121 .S8 2000

Medieval Studies

 
Medieval Wordbook REF KNIGHT CB 351 .C63 2001

Music

 
Oxford Reference Online: Performing Arts online
New Harvard Dictionary of Music MUSIC REF ML ML 100 .N485 1986

Philosophy

 
Oxford Reference Online: Philosophy online
Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy REF KNIGHT B 41 .C35 1999
Dictionary of Ethics, Theology and Society REF KNIGHT BJ 63 .D45 1996

Physics

 
Oxford Reference Online: Physical Sciences online
Cambridge Dictionary of Astronomy SCI REF QB 14 .M55 2001
Dictionary of Physics SCI REF QC 5 .D496 2000

Planning, Public Policy, and Management

 
Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration DOCS REF H 97 .S483 2004
Dictionary of Environment and Sustainable Development DOCS REF HC 79 .E5 G518 1996
Land Use Planning in Oregon DOCS REF HD 211 .07 R64 1987
Latest Illustrated Book of Development Definitions DOCS REF HT 167 .M683 2004
Urban Politics Dictionary DOCS REF JS 48 .S65 1990
Glossary of Zoning, Development, and Planning Terms DOCS REF NA 9108 .A545 no. 491.492 [1999]

Political Science [See also International Studies]

 
Oxford Reference Online: Politics online
Oxford Concise Dictionary of Politics REF KNIGHT JA 61 .C665 2003
Dictionary of World Politics REF KNIGHT JA 61 .K87 2002
Routledge Dictionary of Politics REF KNIGHT JA 61 .R63 2004
Urban Politics Dictionary REF KNIGHT JS 48 .S65 1990

Psychology

 
Oxford Reference Online: Social Sciences online
Dictionary of Psychology REF KNIGHT BF 31 .C72 1999
Dictionary of Cognitive Science REF KNIGHT BF 311 .V56713 2004
Campbell's Psychiatric Dictionary REF KNIGHT RC 437 .H5 2004

Religious Studies [see also Judaic Studies]

 
Oxford Reference Online: Religion online
HarperCollins Dictionary of Religion REF KNIGHT BL 31 .H37 1995
Harper Dictionary of Hinduism REF KNIGHT BL 1105 .S79
[Oxford] Dictionary of Islam REF KNIGHT BP 40 .O95 2003
[Oxford] Dictionary of Buddhism REF KNIGHT BQ 130 .K46 2003
Oxford Companion to Christian Thought REF KNIGHT BR 95 .O84 2000
Eerdman's Dictionary of the Bible REF KNIGHT BS 440 .E44 2000

Romance Languages and Literatures

 
Oxford Reference Online: Literature online
New Oxford Companion to Literature in French REF KNIGHT PQ 41 .N48 1995
Oxford Companion to Italian Literature REF KNIGHT PQ 4006 .O84 2002
Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature REF KNIGHT PQ 6006 .O95 [1978]

Sociology

 
Oxford Reference Online: Social Sciences online
Critical Dictionary of Sociology REF KNIGHT HM 17 .B6813 1989
Dictionary of Sociology REF KNIGHT HM 17 .C66 1998

Statistics

 
Oxford Reference Online: Statistics REF KNIGHT HA 17 .K4 2003
Oxford Dictionary of Statistical Terms REF KNIGHT HA 17 .K4 2003

Theater Arts

 
Oxford Reference Online: Theatre online
Drama Dictionary REF KNIGHT PN 1625 .H62 1988b

Women and Gender Studies

 
Concise Glossary of Feminist Theory REF KNIGHT HQ 1115 .A53 1997
Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism ... REF KNIGHT HQ 1115 .R68 2000

More Subject Dictionaries

You can also find subject dictionaries by doing a Subject Headings search in the UO Libraries Catalog. Enter the broad subject area you are interested in, followed by the subheading dictionaries.

Example:
Finance dictionaries

Maintained by: Paul Frantz, pfrantz@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 02/07/2008