Education
The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Education. For further assistance, contact Katy Lenn, Education Reference Librarian, at klenn@uoregon.edu
Starting Your Research
These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. They can provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research.
- Encyclopedia of education (2nd ed.), 2003; KNIGHT REF LB 15 .E47 2003 or on online
- International encyclopedia of education, 2010
- Encyclopedia of educational research; KNIGHT REF LB 15 .E48 1992
- Encyclopedia of special education : a reference for the education of the handicapped and other exceptional children and adults; KNIGHT REF LC4007 .E53 2000
- Encyclopedia of disability; KNIGHT REF HV 1568 .E528 2006 or online
- Dictionary of developmental disabilities terminology
- Handbook of social justice in education; KNIGHT REF LC 71 .H364 2009
- Sage online Reference books: Includes: Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media; Encyclopedia of Distributed Learning; Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration; Encyclopedia of Human Development; Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice, Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development; Encyclopedia of School Psychology; Encyclopedia of Leadership; Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science; Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America; Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology; Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology; Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior
Therapy; Encyclopedia of Career Development; Encyclopedia of Community
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior; Encyclopedia of Human Development; Encyclopedia of Evaluation; Encyclopedia of Measurement and
Statistics; Encyclopedia of Social
Science Research Methods
- Annual Reviews: Psychology, law and social science, clinical psychology, political science,sociology, anthropology
- Handbook of research on the education of school leaders
- Encyclopedia of the social and cultural foundations of education
- Handbook of reading research
- Handbook of research on teaching the English language arts
- Handbook of reading disability research
- Cambridge handbook of creativity
- Encyclopedia of bilingual education
- International Review of Research in Mental Retardation KNIGHT REF RC 570 .I5 (search topics in this series)
- Encyclopedia of school crime and violence
- National Society for the Study of Education Yearbook 2004 - current
- For more online reference sources see: Online Reference Tools
Finding Articles
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author. Off-campus access will require you to login with your DuckID when accessing proprietary materials OR you can sign in using the VPN client. Once you have located an article you want, use the FindText button that will appear to verify if we have access to the article or use the "Request this item from another library" option to obtain a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
-
ERIC via EBSCO
The main source for education, ERIC consists of citations to more than 850,000 records about all areas of education. ERIC is composed of citations to articles published in education journals and to ERIC documents which include curriculi, reports, standards, and other unpublished materials in education. ERIC indexes materials from 1966 to the present and is updated monthly.
- Education Abstracts
Education Abstracts covers English-language education periodicals and yearbook published in the U.S. and elsewhere. Subjects include administration teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, and government funding. Citations are available from 1983 to the present.
- Academic Search Premier
Provides coverage of some education journals. Also good for it's coverage of education topics in popular magazines such as Time and Newsweek. It does provide full-text access to some articles.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA provides complete coverage of language and linguistics from about 600 journals.
- Social Services Abstracts, provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social
work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare,
social policy, and community development.
- PsycINFO provides indexing and abstracting for 1,900 journals in psychology and related disciplines.
Return to top
Finding Books
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books, dvd's and other materials by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library.
- WorldCat
UO WorldCat offers a streamlined interface for search results that
combine, into a single merged list, the collections of the UO Libraries,
Summit libraries, and hundreds of other libraries worldwide. When
searching in UO WorldCat, entries for items owned by the UO Libraries
appear at the top of the list and include information about location and
availability.
Return to top
People and Organizations
Return to top
Web Resources
Maintained by: Katy Lenn, klenn@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 04/06/2012