This guide lists basic resources for finding information in interior architecture. For further assistance, contact
Ed Teague, subject specialist for architectural areas.
Starting Your Research
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are good starting
places for research. Their content ranges from basic
facts to scholarly articles. Representative titles -- online and print -- are listed below. The print (i.e., paper) titles have links that lead to the library catalog record. The online titles link directly to the resource.
Finding books
- UO Library Catalog Find books and other cataloged materials owned by the UO Libraries
through keyword, subject, title, and author searching in this database.
-
Summit Summit is the catalog of the Orbis Cascade Alliance, a consortium of
regional libraries whose members include UO, Oregon State University,
Portland State University, and others.
- WorldCat. This database records library holdings from around the world.
Finding articles
Top indexes for finding articles on architecture are listed below. Use
an index to find articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines. Most
key indexes are available as databases. Once you have retrieved an
article citation, you'll need to verify that UO has the journal that
holds the article. You can do this by searching the UO Catalog (below) then by clicking the FindText button which appears along with most citations.
More about: FindText.
- Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals.
Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on
architecture, city planning, interior design and historic preservation.
Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the
1860s) to the present.
- RIBA Library Catalogue.
Freely available catalog of the Royal Institute of British Architects Library includes
an index to 300 architectural periodicals. A less comprehensive alternative to the Avery Index
Finding Web resources
Several excellent gateways/portals to architectural Web resources have been created to identify the best sites among thousands available. Among the best:
- American Society of Interior Designers provides listings of designers, resources, special sections on design for aged, universal design, sustainable design.
- Architecture.com.
Web portal, 'all about architecture', maintained by the Royal Institute of British Architects.
- The online periodical ArchitectureWeek provides, in addition to architectural news, information about competitions, conferences, links to images, product info, and a searchable index to architectural firms.
Finding people and associations
- ProFile is an online searchable directory of architectural firms which provides, in addition to basic address information, details about the firm's principals and projects and website links when available.
- Others:
Finding Images, Plans
Some sources for plans and images of architecture:
Finding building codes
Finding graphic standards