The following is a selective list of resources for starting research in Political Science. For further assistance, ask at the Reference Desk or contact Victoria Mitchell , Political Science subject specialist.
Starting Your Research
These reference sources can help you identify a topic for your research, provide an overview of a specific issue or topic, and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research.
- The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought; KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61.B57 1987
A single volume reference containing brief entries on important theories, concepts and individuals in political thought.
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
; KNIGHT REFERENCE JA 61 .C665 2003
Definitions of terms used in the field.
- Dictionary of Political Biography
Covers
all the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century, providing an account of
the background, career, and achievements of the individual concerned.
- Encyclopedia of American Public Policy; KNIGHT REFERENCE JK 468.P 64 J33 1999
Provides brief overviews/summaries of key concepts concerning the history of government in the U.S.
- Encyclopedia of Governance.
Sage Reference
"Almost 550 entries... written by some 230 international experts."
- Encyclopedia of Politics: the Left and the Right
; also KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61 .E54 2005
Two volume set that contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles associated with both the "left" and "right" sides of the political spectrum.
- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations (4 vol.); KNIGHT REFERENCE JZ 1160.N65 2002
Well-annotated entries on the major persons, groups and events in diplomatic history.
- Major Acts of Congress.
Macmillan Reference USA,
2004. A three-volume set that examines landmark pieces of legislation, explaining the historical
factors that led to the proposal of each act, looking at the adoption
process and assessing each act's impact on American life.
- The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
; also in KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61 .O95 2001
A comprehensive guide to international relations and domestic politics throughout the world. Contains over 600 articles on major concept and themes in modern politics. Most articles run one page or less, but approximately 30 longer feature articles ("Critical Issues" and "Interpretive Essays") cover selected topics in more depth.
- More political science reference sources!
Guides to the Research Process
In addition, these guides discuss the process and methodology of doing research in the field of political science, and may be worth consulting to get ideas as to how to approach your topic.
Return to top
Finding Articles
To look for articles in academic journals or magazines, start with a periodical index. An index will allow you to find articles by subject, by a few keywords which describe your topic, or by author.
After identifying articles which look useful for your research, click on the FindText
button to determine if the Library subscribes to it electronically or in print. We also provide a guide to the most influential political science journals.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Citations and abstracts of the international
serials literature in political science and its complementary fields,
including international relations, law, and public administration /
policy. 1975 to the present.
- International Political Science Abstracts; KNIGHT REFERENCE JA36.I5
Provides citations and non-evaluative abstracts to articles in approximately 600 periodicals. The library has from 1951 to present.
- The Left Index.
Provides access to the diversity of literature on the left. Topics covered include politics, economics, the labor movement, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, history, law, globalization, and more. Electronic coverage is available from 1990 to the present. A print index (Z7164.S67 L34, Knight Reference) covers 1982 to 1999.
- PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service).
Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Covers over 2,000 periodicals from 1977 to present. Also includes the PAIS Archive, covering the years 1937-1976.
- Web of Science
Includes the Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) from 1975 to the present. Searchable by keywords, author, etc.; important feature is finding articles that cite (reference) another article.
- Indexes and Databases by Subject
Select "General and Interdisciplinary Databases" or "Political Science" for options to find articles in both political science journals and general interest periodicals.
Return to top
Finding Books & Dissertations
- Summit: the Orbis Cascade Alliance Catalog makes available more than 10,000,000 items from 26 academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest.
- WorldCat
Provides access to library catalogs around the world and is most frequently used for finding books, manuscripts, conference proceedings, etc.
- Dissertation Abstracts
Provides summary information to dissertations in all subjects from 1861 to the present.
- The UO Library Guide Looking for Dissertations can help you with searching the online catalog for dissertations, finding electronic dissertations, and more.
Return to top
Web Resources
- Official government sites
- FDSys the Federal Digital System
Provides free online access to official Federal Government publications (full text).
- MetaLib - From GPO, the U.S. Government Printing Office
A federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government
databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing
direct links to selected resources available online.
- OREGON.gov - The Oregon government home page
- The Oregon Blue Book
The official state directory and fact book about all levels of
government in Oregon
- USA.gov The U.S. government's official web portal
- For more, see the UO Libraries Government Information web page
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
A full-text database that includes conference proceedings, journals, working papers, policy briefs and other documents from think tanks and policy organizations concerned with international relations.
- Digital National Security Archive.

comprehensive collection of primary source documents on U.S. national security issues.
- Elections and Voting. Collection of links by the Government Documents Roundtable of the American Library Association.
- Who Rules? An Internet Guide to Power Structure Research
An excellent guide, created by UO Sociology professor Val Burris, to resources that help you trace the distribution of resources, formal and informal social networks, and much more, linking individuals, groups, and corporations to political power.
Return to top