Starting your Research: More Reference Sources
- American Political Scientists: A Dictionary; KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61 .A525 2002
Provides biographical sketches of major political scientists along with summaries of their research and major theories.
- The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science: a User's Guide to Its Terms; KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61 .B43 1999
Provides definitions of key terms in the field.
- The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Institutions; KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61.B56 1987
A single volume reference containing brief entries on the key concepts
and individuals relating to political and governmental institutions.
- Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections (2 vol.); KNIGHT REFERENCE JK1967 .C662 2001
Encyclopedic and comprehensive guide with entries on major persons,
events and themes in the history of elections in the United States.
- Directory of Political Science Faculty KNIGHT REFERENCE JA86.D57
(current issue in Reference)
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy.
2nd ed., 2002. 3 vols. Substantial articles with bibliographies on
topics ranging from "cultural imperialism" to "the Munich Analogy" to
"realism and idealism."
- The Encyclopedia of Democracy; KNIGHT REFERENCE JC423 .E53 1995
A four volume set providing in-depth scholarly articles on the history
and current status of democratic institutions and ideals. Includes
articles on key individuals, concepts and institutions.
- Encyclopedia of Interest Groups and Lobbyists in the United States.
Sharpe Reference, 2000.
- Encyclopedia of U.S. National Security.
Sage Reference, 2006
- A Glossary of Political Theory; KNIGHT REFERENCE JA65 .H64 2007
Guide to terminology used in the field of political theory.
- The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations (4 vol.); KNIGHT REFERENCE JZ 1160.N65 2002
Well-annotated entries on the major persons, groups and events in diplomatic history.
- Legal Systems of the World : a Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia; KNIGHT REFERENCE K48 .L44 2002
A four volume set with entries for individual countries and sub-state
entities (regions, provinces, U.S. states, etc.), as well as major legal
concepts. Geographic entries show the history of the legal system, its
current structure, and relationships to other systems.
- The Macmillan Dictionary of Political Quotations; KNIGHT REFERENCE PN6084.P6 E54 1993
A compendium of famous quotes on politics and political science.
- National Survey of State Laws.
5thed.
Detroit:
Gale,
2005.
A nice source for comparing state laws on a variety of topics.
- Political Parties of the World.
6thed.
London:
John Harper Publishing,
2005.
- Revolutionary and Dissident Movements of the World.
4thed.
London:
John Harper Publishing,
2004.
Arranged by country, or you can search for the name of a movement, e.g. 'Muslim Brotherhood.'
Maintained by: Victoria Mitchell, vmitch@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/06/2011
Last Modified: 10/06/2011