UO Libraries Home Page

Got Opinions? Research Guide

The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Women's and Gender Studies. For further assistance, contact Sara Brownmiller, Women's Studies Librarian, at snb@uoregon.edu.

This research guide identifies library databases that can be used to find editorials and opinion pieces, while focussing your research on women and gender issues.

Tour of UO Libraries' Web Site

The UO Libraries' Web site provides easy access to the resources that you will need for your classes at the UO. Important resources include a search box for UO WorldCat, a link to starting searching for articles on a subject, a link to find out if the library has a subscription, either electonic or print, to a specific journal, and many more.

Chat with a Librarian


Chat requires JavaScript.
 

Finding Editorials

Many of the library's databases allow you to search by subject and limit the results to editorials. 

Gender Studies

  • Enter the terms for your subject in the search box.
  • In the Document Type drop down menu: editorial.
  • Click on SEARCH.

LGBT Life

  • Enter the terms for your subject in the search box.
  • In the Document Type drop down menu: editorial.
  • Click on SEARCH.

 Newspaper Source

  • Enter the terms for your subject in the search box.
  • In the Document Type drop down menu: editorial.
  • Click on SEARCH.

 Ethnic Newswatch

  • Enter your search term.  Include and editorial* as part of your search terms.
  • Click on SEARCH.

Lexis Nexis Academic

  • Enter your search terms and click on SEARCH.
  • When the results are displayed, click on Subject in the left column.
  • Sort the Subjects, A-Z, then scroll and click on Editorials & Opinions.

Citing Your Sources

"The custom of citing references – that is, providing a record of the sources you have used for your research – is a form of professional honesty and courtesy that is based on a regard for the responsibilities that writers have to readers and to other writers to indicate when they have used someone else's ideas or words."

Some of the library's databases have a feature that will show you how to properly cite an article citation found in that database.   The Gender Studies database, LGBT Life, and Newspaper Source all have this feature. 

For citations found in other databases, you can use the Citation Machine to format your citation by entering the required information for a citation.  The Citation Machine has citation formats for MLA, APA, Turbian and Chicago styles.

Doing Research Off-Campus

The UO Libraries provide access to a wide array of databases, electronic journals, and other electronic resources for the campus community. Eligibility for access to a specific resource is based upon the terms of the licensing agreement signed by the library, which limits off-campus access to current UO students, faculty, and staff. Students, faculty, and staff connecting to electronic resources from off-campus will need to authenticate themselves before access is allowed.

The library recommends using the campus VPN (virtual private network) software, which allows you to connect your computer to the campus network as if you were physically attached to the network when on campus. The client VPN allows you to authenticate one time, with access to all library resources as long as you remain logged in.

Maintained by: Sara Brownmiller, snb@uoregon.edu
Last Modified: 10/07/2009