The following encyclopedias (in order of usefulness) have excellent articles about Gospel Music and gospel performers, and are located in the Music Services Department on the Music Reference shelves across from the Music Reference Desk.
Gospel music encyclopedia.
[MUSIC ML102.G6A5]
The New Grove dictionary of American music. 4 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML101.U6N48 1986]
Encyclopedia of Popular Music. 10 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML102.P66 G84 2006]
Search the Subject section under the last name of the performer, or under Gospel Music.
The Music Index
A good index to articles in most of the standard music journals and magazines.
The library has the paper index, going back to 1949 at [MUSIC REF. ML 118 .M84], with the latest 10 years on the Music Index table;and the older years on the Music Reference shelves.
1979 to the present is available on the UO Library's web site, by search under the Databases & Indexes section.
RILM
This is a more specialized index that includes articles from non-music journals, as well as articles in languages other than English.
It is also available in paper form at:
[MUSIC REF. ML 118 .R4- the latest 10 years on the Music Index table; older years (back to 1970) on the Music Reference shelves.]
Academic Search Premier
This is a general index, available online, that includes articles from some of the more popular journals and magazines. It can be an excellent source for information on people.
Women in music : an encyclopedic biobibliography.
2nd ed. 2 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML105 .H6 1993]
International encyclopedia of women composers.
2nd ed., rev. and enl. 2 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML105.C7 1987]
The Norton/Grove dictionary of women composers.
[MUSIC REF. ML105 .N38 1995]
Biography and Genealogy Master Index.
[KNIGHT Z 5305 .U5 B56 + on the web]
Reader's Guide Retrospective
(The paper edition of Reader's Guide is at KNIGHT REF. AI 3 .R48 and the online edition is part of Wilson Web
Checklist for Doing Music Research
If you have any questions, be sure to ask a librarian or the Douglass Room staff.